Calling for the 2016 “River Town of the Year”


Iowa Rivers Revival is accepting applications for the annual “River Town of the Year” award.

Communities across the state are embracing, protecting and celebrating their local rivers, and each year IRR showcases one Iowa town’s outstanding efforts to reclaim river-fronts as anchors for economic development, recreation, and good ecological practices.

IRR is looking for the next city or town to honor in 2016. Cities or citizens may nominate their town. Applications are due by December 15, 2015.

Visit the IRR website for the application and information about past award winning communities.

Examples of award criteria include, but are not limited to these activities:

•  Innovative storm water controls and river protection measures.
•  Efforts to improve water quality.
•  Efforts to protect and enhance greenbelts and/or ecosystems.
•  Protection of threatened riparian habitat and species.
•  Participating with Iowa Water Trails program.
•  River tourism efforts.
•  Providing river access (programs, trails, portages, guide info)
•  Annual or seasonal river clean-up or event.
•  Partnerships to protect and enhance local river or stream.
•  Dam mitigation and/or safety awareness.

The award will be presented in early 2016 at a reception hosted by Iowa Rivers Revival in the River Town of the Year community.

Previous “River Town” award recipients are Webster City, Elkader, Coon Rapids, Cedar Falls, Charles City, Central City, Dubuque, Decorah, Manchester, and Council Bluffs.  Visit the IRR website for the application and information about the past award-winning communities.

Photo:  Manchester Whitewater Park on the Maquoketa River.  Manchester, Iowa:  2015  “River Town of the Year.” 

Skip to content